Encouraging excellence, valuing people

KS4 Curriculum Information

Below is the KS4 performance data for 2021-22. Please note that these results are excellent considering the uneven impact of the pandemic on both pupils and teaching staff.

South Charnwood Data


 Progress 8 score = +0.31

 Progress 8 score (Disadvantaged pupils) = +0.16

 This score shows how much progress pupils at South Charnwood made across 8 qualifications between the end of   key stage 2 and the end of key stage 4, compared to other similar pupils nationally.

 Attainment 8 score = 54.3

 Schools get a score based on how well pupils have performed in up to 8 qualifications.

 % of pupils achieving a grade 5 or above in GCSE English and maths = 64%

 This tells you the percentage of pupils who achieved grade 5 or above in English and Maths GCSEs.

 % of pupils entering the English Baccalaureate (EBacc) = 26% 

 A pupil is considered to have entered for the English Baccalaureate if they entered for qualifications in English,   Maths, Sciences, a Language and either History or Geography.

 EBacc average points score = 4.71

 The EBacc average points score calculates a pupil's average point scores across the 5 pillars of the English   Baccalaureate.
 % of pupils staying in education or employment after KS4 = 96%  This shows the number of pupils who either stayed in education or went into employment after finishing key stage   4 (after year 11, usually aged 16).

Changes to GCSE Qualifications 

All subjects will be taught with new specifications from Sept 2017 and will be graded 1-9 instead of A*-G. (Grade 1 = G; Grade 4 = C; Grade 7 = A)

Grade 5 (old grade B/C) will now be considered a good pass.

Very little coursework or controlled assessments.

Assessed by final examinations at the end of the course (May/June 2019)

Progress 8

Progress 8 will be the main school performance measure replacing 5A*-C incl English & Maths.